Hachiko Debate: Diet VS Slentrol

We’ve all been know to pack on the pounds, and our pooches are no exception. In fact according to the Banfield state of pet health report from 2013 1 out of 4 pets in the US are obese.

Diet and Exercise:

When faced with a puggy pup your first response should be around diet and exercise. Unsurprisingly the number one cause of obesity is… overeating. You may measure your pet’s food scientifically, but treats, off the table nibbles will rack up the calories. Start here by reducing your pet’s food consumption by 25%, cutting out the treats, and give them raw veggies instead (broccoli, green beans and carrots seem to be a hit).

Also not all dog food is created equal so check out a list of alternatives or switch to a high fiber dog food. And in general when picking dog food look at the ingredients! Aim for food that is high in protein and low in fat and carbs.

Don’t underestimate the power of more exercise, take longer walks, incorporate sprints, walk up and down stairs and play multiple rounds of fetch.

 

Slentrol- the “magic pill”:

When all else fails there is the only FDA approved doggie diet pill. Slentrol suppresses appetite, and slows the transfer of dietary fat to the bloodstream, and according to reports it works. You pooch can lose up to 0.7% of their body weight in a week.

However this is not a long term fix. Since the pill lowers your dogs cholesterol it can have adverse effects such as depression, anxiety, aggression, vomiting and diarrhea.

Have you used slentrol? Tell us about your experiences!

10 thoughts on “Hachiko Debate: Diet VS Slentrol

  1. No Slentrol for me! We just discovered broccoli and I’m happy with that and plenty of walkies and runs! Anxious to try green beans since so many have recommended them! *wags* – Gilligan from WagsAhoy.com

    Like

  2. Lest we forget there’s a direct link between carbs and dog obesity. Our chubby dogs lost weight on a (callibrated) increase in protein and fats with a decrease in carbs.

    Like

  3. I believe in only natural everything for myself and I do the same for my pets. I have control many of my own ailments through diet and exercise so I know I can get my pets through with the same. Fortunately I have a vet who enthusiastically agrees! I also know from experience how hard it can be to help a pet lose weight. Currently, I work hard to keep all of my pets at their ideal weight through (surprise!) diet and exercise. The same way I have helped past lets lose weight. Diets take time but the long term health if the pet is ALWAYS worth the time and energy spent.

    Like

  4. Hi Y’all!

    I love carrots and apples. My Humans don’t believe in diet pills. Do it the “old fashioned way”…physical activity and cutting portions. Besides, who wants to be depressed or worse!

    Y’all come on by,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

    Like

  5. We have the opposite problem. It is hard to keep weight on our dogs. We feed a high protein, high fat food but we do limit treats. Usually we choose smaller low cal treats. Thanks for linking up to the Barks and Bytes hop.

    Like

  6. I can see how people might turn to an appetite suppressant for a dog. It’s hard to cut back on their food, when they look up at you so sweetly, and act so hungry.

    Mia put on some weight when we first got her, but we managed to slim her down since then. The vet cautioned that dogs don’t live as long if they’re overweight. That was enough incentive for me to be diligent. And it might be enough for me to consider a diet pill if we had more trouble getting the weight to come off.

    Like

  7. I was under the impression they stopped making slentrol?

    I work in a veterinary clinic and most people with overweight dogs do not realize or are in denial that they over feed their pets. They tell us ‘buffy’ only gets 1/2 a cup of food per day, but the reality is that Buffy is getting a million other snacks throughout the day, on top of his or her meal. We see it all the time where the pet comes in and is gaining weight, we check the thyroid and it is normal. Slentrol was a good answer to this problem because it made dogs not as hungry, so instead of the owner regulating the dog, the dog could kind of regulate itself. We saw some success with it, but IMO it doesn’t actually teach the owners anything, or force them to be responsible for their pet’s problem. Just like in people it is calories in vs calories out.

    Like

  8. Thank you for joining the blog hop.

    A few years back Sampson and Delilah were very overweight. We switched them to the raw diet and increased their exercise. They get carrots for treats, green beans for fillers and don’t get any commercial treats with grains in them. It worked! They both lost a tremendous amount of weight.

    I like to do things naturally for me and take the same approach with my dogs.

    You are right, most people are in denial their pet is overweight, I know I was.

    Like

Leave a Reply

